The church - the heart of the convent
Originally the convent church was reserved exclusively for the convent. Today it ist a parish church, and therefore open to all believers. In summer regular services are held here. The nuns' Liturgy of the Hours is also celebrated in the convent church in summer.
The church of the convent of St. John in Müstair contains the largest and best-preserved early medieval fresco cycle in the world. Carolingian and Romanesque paintings embellish the walls and the three apses. The entire history of salvation is depicted. Pictures tell the story of King David from the Old Testament, the childhood, work and suffering of Jesus, as well as the ascension to heaven and second coming of Christ. The apses are dedicated to saints and martyrs: St. John the Baptist, St. Stephen, St Peter and St. Paul.
Getting to know the 1200 year old frescos in the church
A guided tour of the church gives visitors an insight into the architecture and history of the convent; it also provides an opportunity to look into the fascinating imagery that was once reserved for monks and clergy.