Good to know
The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier

Major contribution to the Modern Movement

Charles-Edouard Jeanneret was born on 6 October 1887 in La Chaux-de-Fonds, which was then the nerve centre of the Swiss watch industry. In 1917 he moved to Paris, where he took the pseudonym Le Corbusier in 1920. He died on 27 August 1965 in the French commune of Roquebrune-Cap-Martin. Le Corbusier is one of the most important and influential representatives of modern architecture. Although controversial, his buildings are much admired and remain icons of 20th century architecture.

Translated with (free version)

The UNESCO World Heritage Committee has inscribed the architectural work of Le Corbusier on the UNESCO World Heritage List. This inscription concerns 17 sites in seven countries:

1923: La Roche and Jeanneret Houses / Paris, France
1923: Small villa on Lake Geneva / Corseaux, Switzerland
1924: Cité Frugès / Pessac, France
1926: Maison Guiette / Antwerp, Belgium
1927: Houses of the Weissenhof-Siedlung / Stuttgart, Germany
1928: Villa Savoye and gardener's lodge / Poissy, France
1930: Clarté building / Geneva, Switzerland
1931: Rental building at Porte Molitor / Boulogne-Billancourt, France
1945: Housing unit / Marseille, France
1946: Manufacture in Saint-Dié / Saint-Dié-des-Vosges, France
1949: House of Doctor Curutchet / La Plata, Argentina
1950: Notre-Dame-du-Haut Chapel / Ronchamp, France
1951 : Cabanon du Corbusier / Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
1952 : Capitol Complex / Chandigarh, India
1953: Sainte-Marie-de-la-Tourette Convent / Éveux, France
1953: Maison de la Culture de Firminy / Firminy, France
1955: National Museum of Fine Arts of the West / Tokyo, Japan